Mother’s Day is Coming

Mother’s Day is a week away and believe it or not I can’t wait to celebrate this very special day. Even before I became a mom, I always looked forward to Mother’s Day. I guess my memory of this time of the year is always filled with pretty flower beds outside, nice weather, not to mention everyone wearing bright, spring colors. I also remembering taking Mom out for breakfast after church and making her the center of attention on this special day. We always made sure she was loved, but on Mother’s Day, come on now, it’s the best time of the year!

And this year, well, Mom’s Day is here and I know it will be hard without her. However, I’m planning on something special. I hope everything works out right. I plan on the whole family getting together and asking if everyone would like to attend church and then breakfast afterwards, just like we used to before. I hope they will all agree.

The one thing I don’t like is going to the gravesite. You know, taking flowers and saying a few words. It’s not something I look forward to doing, but it’s life. Mom and Dad are buried side-by-side. I guess it won’t be so bad because I get to visit both at the same time.

Mother’s Day will be wonderful. Church will be first, with the choir singing a beautiful song in honor of Mother’s Day. Mom and I were always singing in the choir when I was a teenager and I’m still a choir member today. So yes, it will be all good on Sunday, May 8th 2011. Do I wish you were here celebrating with me? You bet Mom! As a matter of fact, I know I will feel you next to me as choir starts to sing. Happy Mother’s Day Mom. This is one day you will be so missed. I love you.

Tags: ,

Leave a comment